within the one-year time limit prescribed by the Electoral Boundaries Act. Two certified copies of each report were received by the Representation Commissioner; as required by Section 19(1) of that Act, one of these copies was sent to the Speaker of the House of Commons, who in turn laid it before the House.

A 30-day period followed in which objections in writing, signed by no fewer than ten members of the House of Commons, could be filed with the Speaker specifying the provisions of the report objected to and the reasons for the objection. A further period of 15 days was set aside in which the House of Commons was to consider the matter of the objections; this period was extended to 45 sitting days by an Act (SC 1966-67, c.2) assented to on February 23, 1966.

Several objections were filed with the Speaker, the motions were taken up and considered and the reports referred to the Representation Commissioner by the Speaker and then to the Commissions. On expiration of a 30-day period, the Commissions returned their reports with or without amendment through the Representation Commissioner to the Speaker. A draft representation order was then prepared by the Representation Commissioner to be transmitted to the Secretary of State. This order specified the number of members of the House of Commons to be elected for each of the provinces as calculated by the Representation Commissioner and, dividing each of the provinces into electoral districts, described the boundaries of each such district and specified the representation and name given thereto, in accordance with the recommendations contained in the reports. The Governor in Council, by proclamation of June 16, 1966, declared the draft representation order to be in force, effective upon the dissolution of the then existing Parliament.

At subsequent elections, according to the representation order set out in the schedule to the proclamation, 88 members of the House of Commons were to be elected for Ontario, 74 for Quebec, 11 for Nova Scotia, ten for New Brunswick, 13 for Manitoba, 23 for British Columbia, four for Prince Edward Island, 13 for Saskatchewan, 19 for Alberta and seven for Newfoundland. In addition, one member each was to be elected for the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories, making a total representation of 264 in the House of Commons.

Following the 1971 Census, the Representation Commissioner calculated the number of members of the House of Commons to be assigned to each of the provinces. The results

appeared in the Canada Gazette of May 13, 1972 as follows:

Ninety-one members of the House of Commons shall be elected for the Province of Ontario, seventy-two for the Province of Quebec, ten for the Province of Nova Scotia, ten for the Province of New Brunswick, twelve for the Province of Manitoba, twenty-six for the Province of British Columbia, four for the Province of Prince Edward Island, twelve for the Province of Saskatchewan, nineteen for the Province of Alberta and six for the Province of Newfoundland.

The Electoral Boundaries Commissions were named in a special edition of the Canada

Gazette dated June 30, 1972.

At the time of this writing the ten Commissions are preparing the readjustment of federal electoral districts. Each Commission is to complete and forward its report to the Representation Commissioner by July 1, 1973.

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 29 general elections

since Confederation is given in Table 4.3.

Salaries, allowances and pensions. Members of the Senate and House of Commons receive a sessional allowance at the rate of \$18,000 per annum. In addition, for each session of Parliament, they may be paid such travelling expenses between their place of residence or constituency and Ottawa as may be required for the performance of their duties. Senators receive an annual expense allowance of \$4,000 and members of the House of Commons receive an expense allowance of \$8,000 to \$9,650 dependent upon the electoral district represented; neither is subject to income tax and is payable quarterly. The member of the Senate occupying the recognized position as Leader of the Government in the Senate is paid, in addition to his sessional allowance, an annual allowance of \$10,000 and the member of the Senate occupying the recognized position as Opposition Leader in the Senate is paid, in addition to his sessional allowance, an annual allowance of \$6,000; but if the Leader of the Government is in receipt of a salary under the Salaries Act the annual allowance is not paid. The remuneration of the Prime Minister is \$25,000 a year and of a Cabinet Minister and the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons \$15,000 a year in addition to the sessional and expense allowances each receives as a member of Parliament. A Minister without portfolio is paid \$7,500 a year in addition to the sessional and expense allowances; the latter is